Calling all attraction and visitor experience professionals! If your company is a member of AAVEA: we would like to invite you to apply to join AAVEA Executive Board.

The Executive Board (“the Board”) is the governing body responsible for operating AAVEA. It is composed of the Executive Director, the officers of the Association (President, Immediate Past President, Secretary and Treasurer), and four to eight Ordinary Members, Associate Members, and/or Partners (the majority of whom must be Ordinary Members). They are elected by the Membership for a two-year term with one additional term permitted by re-election. Terms begin and end at the end of the General Meeting of the Association held at the Annual Conference (held this year 21 to 22 August). The Board aims for balanced representation from all stakeholders. All members serve without financial compensation and sign a confidentiality agreement and an undertaking against conflict of interest in respect of Association matters.

The Board meets a minimum of once per quarter via tele-con. Existing Board members are:

Meet our current AAVEA board members


  • Sabine Lehmann (President), AAVEA Executive Director
  • Craig Allenby (Treasurer), National Zoological Gardens
  • Mpume Mabuza (Secretary), uShaka Marine World
  • Alichia Nortje, Two Oceans Aquarium
  • Fazielah Williams, Table Mountain Aerial Cableway
  • Sibusiso T. Dlamini, City of Tshwane

They are supported by African Agenda, the professional conference organiser who acts as the AAVEA Secretariat.

If you would like to contribute to growing our industry, please send a 200-word motivation to by Friday, 9 August 2019. In your motivation, along with your contact details, include information about your experience in the industry, the attraction you represent, which AAVEA/Attractions Africa conference(s) you have attended, and why you want to serve on the Board.

We look forward to hearing from motivated attractions professionals.